What Do I Want to Get Out of College?


Going into my freshman year of college I am pretty excited to go off to college and see what it has to offer. My college is about an hour and a half from my house so it is the perfect distance for my family and I. Here are some things I’d like to get out of my first year:

 

Life-long friends

Everyone always says that once you go to college you find friends that will stick with you much longer than your high school friends do, mainly because you spend a lot more time with them. I think this is what I have been looking forward to most because everyone loves to meet new people and make new friends, it’s a chance to get to know someone without ever hearing of them like in high school.

Of course my roommate and I are going to become pretty close, I mean we are living in close quarters together so it is probably unavoidable. But having other friends all around campus and in my classes is going to be a goal so I have friends really wherever I am.

 

A Good Work Ethic

As I said in recent posts my work ethic in high school was pretty much non existent. I didn’t ever really study because everything came relatively easy to me and I just didn’t see a point. I never did my homework and if I did it was always during the class before it was due. I hope in college that I gain these skills and it comes easier to me and it is not such a forced thing anymore. I know it will be hard to achieve this but I am confident if I really try my best it will work out.

 

Loving My Field of Study and Eventually My Career

This has always been an important factor to me, mainly because I am a first generation college student and want to make my family proud. Finding and doing something I love is so important, I want to love my job and not end up dread going ever single day. With me already changing my major I have a little bit of a fear that this won’t happen but I think in the end it will all work out.

 

Gain Some Self Confidence 

High school doesn’t really do many good things for your self confidence, for me I went on a roller coaster when it came to self love. I hope being around good people will give me the boost I need to truly love myself which is important going forward into my adult life. This is important to me because everyone to deserves to love themselves and be around people who brings out the best in them.

 

Make A Difference In Someone’s Life

I want to volunteer a lot in college, I didn’t do much in high school and it is one of my biggest regrets. I want to contribute to society and help someone and make a impact on their life. When I was in Ecuador we went to a small village where most of the kids had no toys whatsoever. We went to the market and bought them all kinds of little toys and came back the next day and had a huge soccer game with them. To know I made a impact in their life was amazing, it’s such a good feeling id love to experience again.

 

____________________________________________________________________________________________

I hope you guys enjoyed this post and are liking my blog so far! Leave any suggestions you have below and don’t forget to follow this blog I post daily!

What are some things you want to get out of college?

Happy Adulting- Karla

 

What Do I Want to Get Out of College?

2 thoughts on “What Do I Want to Get Out of College?

Leave a Reply

